Fifteen years of age, Isa Muirison loves her life working for the floating shops of Orkney at the turn of the 20th century. But her happy family life is thrown into turmoil by her father's decision to emigrate to Canada, her sister's illness and her own love for Davie, a penniless whisky runner.
Despite her family's opposition, she follows Davie to his tiny island home where she is met by the fierce hostility of his mother and his childhood sweetheart, Chrissie.
Alone among strangers, Isa's unrelenting determination gains acceptance and popularity in the close knit community. 
But no one could have foreseen the tragedy that rips the heart out of that community and shatters Isa's security. 
Meanwhile, Chrissie has found solace in the arms of Davie's violent brother Jack, only to discover a darkness in his soul she could never have imagined.  Events are set in motion over which the two women have no control.
Will either of them ever find peace?  And in whose arms will Davie find solace?
I was born on the island of Stroma and lived there for the first nine years of my life.  I grew up hearing stories from my mother and grandparents of the life of a different generation.
Pushed by members of my writing circle, Talking Volumes, to write about my native island, (which has already been done in length in the book entitled 'Stroma') I decided to set my story in a fictional island, Raumsey.   All of the characters are entirely products of my own imagination.
After Winning 2nd prize in the Scottish association of Writers' general novel competition 2009, my first novel, Follow the Dove, was published by Troubadour in 2011. 

Chrissie Reid, a young battered wife living on a small Orkney island in 1906 finally turns on her husband, Jack. After a particularly brutal attack, she is driven to offering him poison. With no memory of that night, she believes she has killed him, especially when she discovers the remains of a body buried in the byre. 
In spite of her guilt at having taken another life, Chrissie eventually finds love again.  Her strength, determination and love for her fellow islanders carry her through fourteen years of hardship, intercepted and exacerbated by the Great War.
But the past won't stay buried, and fourteen years after that fateful night, Chrissie is forced to confront the nightmare that has overshadowed her life.
With the arrival of a letter, she discovers that nothing is as it seems.  A series of events over which she has no control are set in motion.  Lies and secrets are uncovered, leading to a dramatic and tragic climax.
Set partly in the Orkney Islands and partly in the notorious Hell's Kitchen, Manhattan, 'Broken Horizons' is the sequel to 'Follow the Dove' and will hit the shops in early December 2012.

Follow the Dove proved so popular, that I was pressed to write a sequel.  On the 11th of December, 2012, The Broken Horizon was printed and delivered the next day!  I am now working on the third of the trilogy.
I have had some success by selling short stories to women's magazines and have won several awards for my writing.
I have also published a series of short stories as an ebook.
Gone With the Tide and Other Stories
Like on facebook
Caithness Writers
contact me
About the author
Click on any book to take you Amazon

My Blog
my other hobby
trailer for Follow the Dove
Click on any image to take you to book information.
Indie Author Land
Anthology by Caithness writers.